Push is the most cost-effective and most direct marketing operation method for app applications. It has many details and tests the skills of operators. This article will analyze how to improve the revenue of marketing push from the perspective of ROI (non-IM, system and other functional services). type push).
Taking an application with 1 million daily activities as an example, its daily push cost ≈ cloud cost + push platform/self-built platform cost + operation/R&D labor cost, roughly calculated as 2,000 yuan (if it is not pushed every day, the cost may also exist, It can be said that it is almost equivalent to whoring).
Daily push revenue = push times × number of people pushing each time × reach rate × click rate × average conversion value, where "average conversion value" is calculated in different ways due to different profit models; for example, information flow advertising is the main profit model For news apps, the average conversion value = average number of ad impressions × eCPM ÷ 1000; for e-commerce apps with commodity purchases as the main country email list profit model, the average conversion value = purchase rate × average order amount × average profit margin.
Calculated based on the industry average, the daily push revenue ≈ 3×1 million×30%×1%×0.5=4,500 yuan. In addition, the number of active users of the application, health and other aspects have also been improved significantly (often operational Personnel KPIs), which are not shown here.
Below we analyze one by one:
01 Push times
Generally, an application pushes 2 to 5 marketing pushes per day (for a single user), and some apps push more than ten pushes a day, but this often arouses the disgust of users. It is said that there must be some restraint in the frequency of pushes, and it is best not to push marketing pushes to a single user more than 3 times a day.
02 Number of pushers
It is generally not recommended to push in full. For specific user tags, the target is selected by the intersection and difference, and the push is carried out. On the premise of not disturbing the user too much, the click rate of the user can be improved.
03 Reach rate
The arrival rate = the number of arrivals / the number of transmissions. There are two main reasons for the low arrival rate. One is that the user has closed the push, and the other is the reason of the technical channel.
Regarding the user push switch, on the one hand, it is necessary to check whether the push frequency and push copy are too much to harass the user. Users should be reminded of valuable scenarios, rather than a pop-up window to remind users to turn on the push switch; if your push content is useful to users, most users will not turn off the push switch.
There are three kinds of push channels: three-party push platform, vendor channel, and long-term connection. Most applications use the third-party push platform, which provides a one-stop push service and has advantages in terms of convenient integration, customization, and data statistics; however, The arrival rate is often not guaranteed 100%, so many applications will also integrate the push SDK of mobile phone manufacturers, such as Huawei Push Service, Xiaomi Message Push, etc.; push notifications are sent through the manufacturer's resident notification center process to avoid application processes being killed. Post-death messages cannot reach users, and their online message arrival rate can generally reach more than 99%.
Long connections require more R&D resources, and there is a possibility that the process will be killed by the system, so it is not recommended.
04 CTR
The click-through rate is related to various factors, such as copy quality, push style, push period, portrait match, etc.
As shown in the figure below, the homogeneity of the push copy is very serious. How to stand out from it and arouse the user's desire to click is a very test of the copywriter's skills.
There are many specific methods, such as @user, rubbing hot spots, directly displaying preferential information, personalized ringtones, adding >> symbols, etc. It is recommended to choose a method that conforms to the tonality of the application, or you can experiment through A/B Test; A single push copy style can easily make users numb, and changing the style appropriately may bring a refreshing experience to users.
Three minutes to teach you to improve the ROI of application push
The push style is generally in the form of text as shown in the figure above, and some will also be equipped with small image previews. The addition of Emoji will also make the push style more lively; the current industry is also trying to push the form of large images. The image includes the display of the animation to attract attention, thereby greatly increasing the click-through rate of the push.
For the push time period, generally speaking, the push time should be when people are relatively free and frequently use mobile phones, such as on the way to work and during breakfast time (9-10:00), lunch break (12-14:00), and on the way to get off work ( 6-7 o'clock), before going to bed (21-22 o'clock), etc., but it cannot be generalized. Some hot content must be time-sensitive.
If you are more confident in your own application, you can also adjust it according to the user habits of your own products. Time also has psychological expectations and forms a certain tacit understanding with users.
Pushing based on user portraits can not only increase the click rate of users, but also reduce the disgust of users’ push information. Currently, the main user portraits of industry push platforms include: age, gender, interests, recently active applications, places visited, etc. .
It is also worth noting that, in order to improve the experience of mobile phone users, major domestic Android manufacturers have intelligent classification rules for notification messages, which automatically classify and rate notifications pushed by apps, and give different display rights.